Kunstfort bij Vijfhuizen is art, heritage and nature in one.

The monumental Fort bij Vijfhuizen is one of the first concrete buildings in the Netherlands and part of the Defence Line of Amsterdam; a large-scale 19th-century defensive plan that was never completely put into action, and has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1996. The island is surrounded by distinct examples of Dutch country planning like the 19th century polder landscapes and 20th century suburban “Vinex” housing districts.

Since 2005 the island is a destination for art, a unique location where visual art and military heritage come together. The exhibitions mirror the fort’s surroundings: a collage of engineered landscapes showcasing the deployment of nature for a wide range of—now often outmoded—purposes.

The Kunstfort is a place where time, space, and image merge. The artistic program is inspired by the genre of science fiction—artists create alternative realities and question existing societal systems. Recurring themes are climate and landscape, border politics and defense models, technology and ritual, dystopia and apocalypse. The outcomes are presented in exhibitions, outdoor interventions, and multidisciplinary exchanges.

Kunstfort Team

Board Kunstfort Activities

Chair – Jan Hoekema

Secretary – Xander Karskens

Treasurer – Chris de Jong

Board Kunstfort Management

Chair – Mathias Lehner

Secretary – Vacant

Treasurer– Gert-Jan Smit

Assistent Treasurer – Marlène Verwoerd


Artistic director – Zippora Elders


Coördination Backoffice & Communication – Lisette Bockwinkel

Assistance Coördinator & Volunteers – Simone van Fulpen

Project Manager Exhibitions – Marleen Kers

Communication & Online – Manique Hendricks

Journal – Floor

Education – Marcel van Kerkvoorde

Archive – Reinier Huyksloot

System management – Ralph Le Mair


Management & Technical Assistance – Gert-Jan Brok

Support Management – Arnold de Groot, Henk van Noort, Bart Smink, Ed Trommel, Pieter van Zutphen.

Secretary – Karin Eveleens

Guided Tours

Tjitske Baarda, Esther Batelaan, Gert-Jan Brok, Arnold de Groot, Erika Naeije, Agnes Bos-Regossi, Robbert Thuis.

Public Program

Esther Batelaan, Sophia Botermans, Hein van Caspel, Frans Christis, Chris van Gelderen, Gerald van Daalen, Elly Erftemeijer, Mildred Evers, Linda Harnisch, Henk van de Hoef, Irma Meijs, Hans Rosenberg, Trudy van der Zee, Frank Verhagen.

Kunstfort Projects

Bee Heroes – Mariken Straat, Ben Scharp

Working group heritage pavilion

Arnold de Groot


Lisette Bockwinkel

Advisory board

Hildebrand de Boer

Jeroen Boomgaard

Terry van Druten

Sara van der Heide

Chris Julien

Eva Olde Monnikhof

Vincent van Velsen

Florian Weigl

Niels Weitkamp

Sanne Luteijn

Mariette Dölle


Vacancy board member legal affairs / secretary. Click here for the vacancy (in Dutch).

Vacancy for public employees (voluntary, m/f). We are looking for enthusiastic public employees, click here for the vacancy (in Dutch).

We endorse the Governance Code Culture

The wages for employees are in accordance with the GCC. These standards are not exceeded. The allowance fees received by the board members follow the GCC and are below the maximum of untaxed fees for volunteers.

Annual report 2016

Financial report 2016

Policy plan 2012 – 2015

Year report 2017

Year plan 2018

Newsletter October 2018

Kunstfort Team

Back to top